Marvel Comics has released their first look at their comic book portion of the march toward "The Force Awakens." "Shattered Empire" purports to be about the story of the Empire and how they maintain a hold on the political structure of the galaxy after the destruction of the second Death Star and death of Palpatine and Vader.

Here is the official synopsis and press announcement:

Charge headlong into a new era of Star Wars comics as the first Marvel series to take place after Return of the Jedi kicks off this September! Today, Marvel is proud to present your first look at JOURNEY TO STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS – SHATTERED EMPIRE #1 – a brand-new series from the critically acclaimed creative team of Greg Rucka and Marco Checchetto. High above the forest moon of Endor, the Rebel Alliance makes their desperate last stand against the might of the Empire. Though they are successful in the destruction of the second Death Star, the Empire is far from beaten. Now, follow Shara Bey, an A-Wing pilot in the Rebel Fleet in the days following the Battle of Endor. Though their super weapon has been destroyed, Shara will discover that just how dangerous and unpredictable a shattered Empire can be! Don’t miss the explosive first issue as Marvel takes a deeper look into a part of the Star Wars universe yet unexplored in JOURNEY TO STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS – SHATTERED EMPIRE #1 comes to comic shops on September 2nd!

Written by GREG RUCKA

Cover by PHIL NOTO

Previous Post: Saturday Morning Cartoon! 'God, the Devil, and Bob'

Next Post: Sunday Funnies: 08/09/2015

Tags: Greg Rucka , Phil Noto , The Force Awakens , Star WArs